True IslamTrue Islam

True Islam

Seeking Clarity on Islam? Answered Here!

What are the five pillars of Islam?


The Five Pillars of Islam

The Five Pillars of Islam are the foundation of a Muslim's faith and practice. They are considered the core beliefs and practices that every Muslim must follow. Here is a detailed explanation of each pillar:

1. Shahada (Faith)

  • The Shahada is the Islamic declaration of faith. It states, "There is no god but Allah, and Muhammad is the Messenger of Allah." This simple yet profound statement expresses the monotheistic belief in one God and the acceptance of Muhammad as His final prophet.
  • Source: Quran 3:18 - "Allah witnesses that there is no deity except Him, and [so do] the angels and those of knowledge - [that He is] maintaining [creation] in justice. There is no deity except Him, the Exalted in Might, the Wise."

2. Salah (Prayer)

  • Muslims are required to perform five daily prayers facing the Kaaba in Mecca. These prayers occur at dawn, noon, mid-afternoon, sunset, and evening. Salah is a direct link between the worshipper and Allah.
  • Source: Quran 2:110 - "And establish prayer and give zakah, and whatever good you put forward for yourselves - you will find it with Allah. Indeed, Allah of what you do, is Seeing."

3. Zakat (Charity)

  • Zakat is the practice of charitable giving based on accumulated wealth. It is obligatory for all Muslims who meet the necessary criteria of wealth. The standard rate is 2.5% of one's savings and wealth.
  • Source: Quran 9:60 - "Zakah expenditures are only for the poor and for the needy and for those employed to collect [zakah] and for bringing hearts together [for Islam] and for freeing captives [or slaves] and for those in debt and for the cause of Allah and for the [stranded] traveler - an obligation [imposed] by Allah. And Allah is Knowing and Wise."

4. Sawm (Fasting)

  • During the month of Ramadan, Muslims fast from dawn until sunset. This means abstaining from food, drink, and other physical needs. Fasting is a way to purify the soul and develop self-control.
  • Source: Quran 2:183 - "O you who have believed, decreed upon you is fasting as it was decreed upon those before you that you may become righteous."

5. Hajj (Pilgrimage)

  • Hajj is the pilgrimage to Mecca that every Muslim must undertake at least once in their lifetime if they are physically and financially able. It occurs during the Islamic month of Dhu al-Hijjah.
  • Source: Quran 3:97 - "In it are clear signs [such as] the standing place of Abraham. And whoever enters it shall be safe. And [due] to Allah from the people is a pilgrimage to the House - for whoever is able to find thereto a way. But whoever disbelieves - then indeed, Allah is free from need of the worlds."


The Five Pillars of Islam provide a comprehensive framework for a Muslim's life, guiding their faith, worship, and ethical conduct. By adhering to these pillars, Muslims cultivate a strong relationship with Allah and contribute positively to their communities.

If you have any more questions or need further clarification, feel free to ask. May Allah guide us all to the truth.

Tags: Islam, Five Pillars, Shahada, Salah, Zakat, Sawm, Hajj


out of


True Islam - Explore with Open Hearts | Product Hunt